Fedora + Windows + Firewall

I have a windows machine acting as a backups box, I hope to change it soon, but currently my backblaze backup software doesn’t support linux. I hope this’ll change one day.

Anyhoo, when I first installed Fedora on my laptop, I couldn’t access the windows machine via Nautilus

Screenshot from 2014-06-08 07:37:42

I can’t remember the exact error message but it was always something like “unable to connect to share” or “unable to find computers”. I knew it was a firewall issue but didn’t want to use the stop firewall command [see below] as that would defeat the object of having a firewall.

systemctl stop firewalld.service

OK the answer was easier than I thought, in the firewall system I made sure that samba-client was selected in the HOME section as this was the zone config I was going to use.

Screenshot from 2014-06-08 07:29:27

Go to the network settings and look for your connection, I’m wireless so I looked for my connection and clicked the gear symbol over on the right.

Screenshot from 2014-06-08 07:28:55

I then looked at the identity section and noticed you could select the zone for the network connection. I changed mine to Home.

Screenshot from 2014-06-08 07:29:06

Once I’d saved everything and then tried to view my windows Lan from within nautilus, it worked, yipee…ahem….you learn something new everyday.

Screenshot from 2014-06-08 07:53:22

Leave a Reply

