Windows 2012 – Remote Desktop

I’m playing about with Windows 2012 Server and RDP was giving me nothing but grief, I could not connect to it, and I couldn’t figure out why, I knew it must be firewall related, but I couldn’t see why, basically because I’m blind.

Here’s how you fix it.

Start up powershell and run this

Get-NetConnectionProfile

Look for the network category, if you’ve just recently install the server, then it’s more likely set to Public

If you have a look around, then remote desktop isn’t enabled for the Public profile.

Change it to Private by running this

Set-NetConnectionProfile -NetworkCategory Private

Check again to make sure the profile is Public and then check Remote Desktop.

Leave a Reply

