Windows – virt-manager

I’m currently running a Centos 6.5 virtual host, it’s just setup to use kvm etc. As a Fedora user, I can just install the virt-manager software on my machine and use this to setup my virtual machines. Yes I know I can use it all from command line, but this is all about the gui.

Sometimes [I dual boot my laptop] I’m in windows, so was wondering if you could run virt-manager under windows. Well it turns out you can. There are a few prerequisites you need to do before you get it running, but here’s how I got it running on my systems. This is for a windows 7 machine, I’ve not tested it on windows 8

If you don’t have it already install in on your virtual host

yum -i install virt-manager

Edit /etc/ssh/sshd_config and make sure that X11Forwarding is set to yes [if it’s not change it, save file and restart sshd

On the host install xorg-x11-xauth

On the client you’ll need to install a xwindow system so I downloaded this from XMING

http://sourceforge.net/projects/xming/ – just install it accepting all the defaults then run it. it should put a little icon in your system tray.

now you’ll need the ssh client. I use putty

http://www.chiark.greenend.org.uk/~sgtatham/putty/download.html

run putty

add the ip you want to connect to, username and password etc, then setup X11 options

LinuxKVMManagingKVMGuestUsingVirt-ManageronWindows_image01-300x289

Now something I had to add was the X-Display location, I added localhost:0 into that box

once you’ve connected to the server, log is an root and run virt-manager

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I did it, I got this, check out the fonts….wow they suck

virt-manager

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

well to fix that, you need to install certain fonts on the host

yum install dejavu-lgc-sans-fonts

Sorted….well it was for me.

One thought on “Windows – virt-manager

Leave a Reply

