Project 365 – Linux #1

I’ve decided that I want to do an experiment, famous last words I know, but I’ve been wanting to do this for awhile.  If you know me, then you know I change my desktop operating system a lot, I’m just not satisfied with one thing in any of the distros, either windows or Linux, so I’ve given myself a good talking to, and decided on this project.

I’m going to use Fedora Linux on my home laptop, and linux on my home servers exclusively for 1 year starting from today which is the 16th September 2014.

Fedora 20 is already installed so I’m going to document it’s use over the year.  It’s a way of forcing myself to use Fedora, without rebooting back into windows to do a task that i can’t do under linux, due to lack of knowledge or due to the fact i just don’t want to learn it and I can do it quicker in windows.   This project might cause a few problems, as I’m not the only one who uses my laptop, my son does, and as my daughter gets older, she’ll want to as well, so they are going to have to learn a non MS based system.   All the future blog posts will document how I get on.   As I’m a photographer, it’ll be interesting to see how I cope with using Gimp and Darktable, and how kdenlive cuts it as a video editor.

As for servers, they are pretty much working as they should, I use Ubuntu as a webserver, then for all my virtual machines, I’m using Centos7 and KVM, nothing to change here.

One of the good things about this is that I can involve you, the reader, in this project as well.  If you want me to try something, or find a program that you want to see a linux alternate version, or you want to see a video on how to use it, then just leave a comment on the post.  Or drop me an email at fedora365 [@ ] paulmellors.net

If you’re a IRC user then you can join me in #fedora365 on the irc.freenode.net network.

Leave a Reply

