Backup Server – Samba | Debian | Fedora/Centos

I wanted a server I could use to backup all my data, I’ve been toying with the idea of Windows server, it’s easy enough to install it and create a share so that I can use it to backup my laptops.  But then I stopped being silly and just installed debian.  I then had to setup samba.  This is how I did it on Debian 7, but as it’s samba, it’ll probably work on Fedora or any linux distro.

The end result is to have a network share, you can mount, then use what ever method to backup your machines/data to.

  • Install server OS
  • Install samba – Debian I used apt-get install samba, on a fedora/centos then it’s more than likely yum install samba
  • edit the samba conf – vi /etc/samba/smb.conf
  • search for the global group and update your workgroup
  • search for [homes] section
  • enable read/write for the homes by setting read only = no
  • create your own share

[paulsfiles]
read only = no
path = /home/paulsfiles
guest ok = no

  • make sure you’ve set the smb password for the user or they won’t be able to connect.  The user must exist on the server.  smbpasswd -a username
  • restart samba – /etc/init.d/samba restart or service restart samba

You should then be able to map your drive on your own pc/laptop

That’s it in a nutshell.  There are more options you can use, if you use man samba you’ll be able to see them all.

Have fun.

Leave a Reply

