Home Server Update #1

After setting up and configuring my second server, the VM’s on my first hyper-v server are now replicated to the second.  That means if the first server goes down for any reason, I can bring them up again on the second server without too much trouble.

As it’s hyper-v you can test that the failover works by shutting down the VM on the main server and then performing a failover test.  I tried that this morning and it worked a treat.  At least I know now that if the main server goes down, I can limit the amount of downtime.

Next step when I’ve saved, is to purchase an external storage medium so I can play with failover clustering, but this is a while off yet.

Leave a Reply

