Virsh Console CentOS7

I’m running a few virtual machines on a CentOS based kvm server, and I’ve always wanted to be able to use virsh console from the command line as I’m not always in front of my server and don’t have remove access to it’s desktop.  I was looking for a way to enable it from my VPS servers, and after a little research it’s a little easier than I thought.

My target server is my dhcp server which is running CentOS7, all I needed to do was type this at the servers prompt

grubby --update-kernel=ALL --args="console=ttyS0"

then reboot.

I could then virsh console rmcdhcp01, which presented me with this

[root@rmcvirt02 paulmellors]# virsh console rmcdhcp01
Connected to domain rmcdhcp01
Escape character is ^]

CentOS Linux 7 (Core)
Kernel 3.10.0-123.13.2.el7.x86_64 on an x86_64

rmcdhcp01 login:

I'm not sure if that would work with non centos/rhel machines, but as I have a few ubuntu servers to move over, I'll try it with that and see what happens.


Leave a Reply

