Debian NFS Server

I wanted to create a NFS share on my backup server so I can backup my storage server, I rsync stuff between the storage server and the backup box, instead of creating a samba share I just wanted to setup an NFS share instead, this is how I did it. This is on Debian Jessie

1, apt-get install -y nfs-kernel-server
2, vi /etc/idmapd.conf – all I had to do here was uncomment the domain line and change it to my domain.
3, vi /etc/exports and add the line /home/backup01 xx.xx.xx.xx(rw,no_root_squash)
/home/backups01 is the folder I want people to be able to connect to
xx.xx.xx.xx is the IP or range of IP’s that I want to be able to connect rw
4, restart the nfs server – systemctl restart nfs-kernel-server

You should then be able to connect to the share using mount -t nfs xx.xx.xx.xx:/share /location_on_local_machine
You might need to make sure you have nfs-utils installed.

It seems to work for me.

Leave a Reply

