Fedora 22 – MATE Desktop

While I’m a big fan of Gnome, I wanted to try another desktop environment. I’ve heard people about MATE desktop and thought I’d give it a try. It’s easy enough to install when you know the right command.

dnf groupinstall mate-desktop

Once you’ve installed, reboot your machine and you’ll have the option to select MATE before you login.

gdm-wayland

** NB The MATE option will appear when you reboot.

Once logged in you can tweak to your hearts content.

Screenshot

** UPDATE **

If you want the proper mint menu, then you need to

dnf install mintmenu

Screenshot

2 thoughts on “Fedora 22 – MATE Desktop

  1. How to I enable mint menu? I have installed it as per to your instructions above but I only get a default GNOME 2.MATE desktop when I log in.

    Like

    • Hi Eric

      It’s something you need to add manually, right click the task bar, and it’s something like add to panel and there will be an option for the mint menu

      Like

Leave a Reply

