Debian Jessie + Kvm

While Debian has always been my favourite server os, due to it’s stability and community, I’ve never really ever used it for anything other than a standard simple samba storage server, and for that it’s always worked a treat.  I’ve been using Windows 2012 hyper-v for a couple of weeks and with replication, it’s been pretty sweet.  But in a paranoid moment, I realised, that to be honest, I don’t trust Microsoft one little bit so decided to change it.  If you know me you’ll know I just can’t make up my mind, so will probably be back or on another OS in a few days any way.

Any way, I need a virtualisation server, as I run a number of servers, so KVM for me is the way to go.  Here’s [in it’s simplest terms] how I got it working on Debian 8.

Install the required components

apt-get -y install qemu-kvm libvirt-bin virtinst bridge-utils#

Add the local user to the kvm and libvirt groups

adduser paulmellors kvm
adduser paulmellors libvirt

Reboot just to be on the safe side.  Job done.

Most of everything else can be done client side.  I already have converted my vhdx files to qcow2 so it’s just a case of using virt-manager [yes I’m lazy] to create the virtual machines, make a few tweaks to the network settings and bobs your uncle, or so they say.

Converting the files was done something like this

qemu-img convert -f vhdx -O qcow2 image1.vhdx image1.qcow2

Quite simple when you know how.

Stage two, is to do the same on my second server, then setup glusterfs to replicate the qcow2 files accross machines for redundancy 😀

 

One thought on “Debian Jessie + Kvm

Leave a Reply

