Installing RHEL 7.1

Today I installed RHEL 7.1 for the very first time, don’t get me wrong I’ve install CentOS 7.1 numerous times, but I wanted to see what the difference was.  I know most of you reading this will just tell me, it’s graphics but I wanted to see for myself.

ok ok, the install is pretty much the same, the other option I’ve noticed in the RHEL install is KDUMP, that option doesn’t seem to be part of the CentOS installer.

** UPDATE **

CentOS has Kdump as well. Anaconda doesn’t try to enable it unless you have sufficient RAM on the system

** END UPDATE **

The only other thing I’ve noticed is that with RHEL you can’t just login and yum update, you need a subscription.  Luckily I do, so from the command prompt I just typed

subscription-manager register

It asked for my username and password and then just updated.  Simples.

I also enabled Nic Bonding, which you can read how to do it here, until I write another for RHEL

http://www.paulmellors.net/centos-6-6-network-bonding/

I also enabled samba, so I can access my files [I’m using the server as file storage]

So far it’s the same, although I’ve noticed the responsiveness of the server is a little faster than CentOS, that could just be me.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Installing RHEL 7.1

  1. CentOS has Kdump as well. Anaconda doesn’t try to enable it unless you have sufficient RAM on the system though so maybe you haven’t seen it due to that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

