Hardware Anguish

Over the past few years, I’ve been posting about the different ways I’ve been using linux and windows to achieve hardware redundancy.  The aim to save myself a lot of heartache if and when my old servers decide to give up the ghost.  We’ll my time finally came and all my efforts came crashing down.

Picture the scene, server fan starts getting really loud, error message all over the dell servers led [fan issues] server fails.

No problems I hear you cry, you have another server that you can fail over too…..well yes yes you’re right.  Fail over the VPS’s on the currently working server and bobs you’re uncle.  Web servers etc are backup and all is fine with the world.

24 hours later,

Picture the scene, server fan starts getting really loud, error message all over the dell servers led [fan issues] server fails.

DEJA FRACKING VU……hmmm both servers fail.

Well that’s caused me a few hassles.

Luckily it’s only a few websites [including this one] that are down, I know I can get the data back [albeit it a little pain in the neck seeing as they are hyper-v vm’s]

Cutting a long story short, I managed to get the databack and put onto a Debian VPS with Memset

No matter how much you try, servers / hardware / computers can seriously bite you in the ass…..backups backup backups.

Sigh 🙂

Leave a Reply

