Dell Latitude E6510 + Debian + Nvidia

** Please note, this worked for my laptop, but it might hose yours, so be careful and make sure you have a complete backup **

I have a Dell Latitude E6510 and I wanted to give the latest Debian a go.  It’s easy enough to get the iso onto a usb stick and there are plenty of guides to do that so I won’t go into that here.

Installation was straight forward and worked a treat, so lets reboot and see what this puppy does.

uh-ho black screen.   I could get past the boot menu [I’m dual booting windows 10 as well] but other than that, everything else was black, no screen at all.

Google to the rescue.

Once you’re at the grub menu prompt, type e to edit the line

Go to the line starting with the word linux and ending with the words: quiet splash

Add nomodeset to the end of the line and boot the machine.

This should boot the machine, but in a very low graphics mode, time to get the nvidia working.

In this laptop I have the NVM 3100M nvidia card and this is what I had to do to get it working

Make sure you have contrib non-free in your sources.list file

Run these commands from the terminal as root

  • apt-get install nvidia-driver
  • apt-get install nvidia-xconfig
  • nvidia-xconfig

Reboot the machine and you should have nvidia graphics 🙂  Well it worked for me.

Let me know if it works for you 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

