Fedora 26 + Wireless + BCM43142

I have a laptop, it’s a Dell Inspiron 15 [3000 Series] who’s wireless doesn’t work out the box.

This is how I installed the driver to get it working.

1, check which model of Broadcome you have

[paulmellors@sheldon ~]$ lspci | grep Network
06:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Limited BCM43142 802.11b/g/n (rev 01)
[paulmellors@sheldon ~]$

2. Install RPM Fusion for your system from here

3. Install broadcom-wl

[root@sheldon paulmellors]# dnf install broadcom-wl

Reboot, and your wireless should be available now.

I use the i3 window manager, so I had to also install the network-manager-applet so I could load nm-applet, but it worked once I’d added the comment to the i3 config.

Screenshot from 2017-09-05 10-56-56

 

2 thoughts on “Fedora 26 + Wireless + BCM43142

  1. How is it working for you? I have a user that has a laptop with that chipset in it and the network connection keeps dropping out intermittently. You probably only have a single AP that you’re connecting to, right? I’m wondering if it’s a roaming problem.

    Like

Leave a Reply

